Goodbye, New York

It’s been five days since I left New York, and as is the case with week-old nostalgia, I often find myself thinking about the city.  I’ve always loved the vibrancy of New York, the energy, and even the street meat smell.  Since I left, I have found myself missing those aspects of the city: the pavement-pounding commuters, the holier-than-thou coffeeshops, the 3 AM chicken and rice.  Most of all, though, I miss the people.  I miss the tour guide in Midtown who attracts customers by telling people his name is Kofi Annan (“Really? I’ve totally heard your name before.  You’re a famous tour guide!”).  I miss the crazy (and perhaps sight-challenged) men who would hoot at me in the mornings (“Hey baby, you’re looking fine in those Old Navy dress pants.”).  I miss the friends who came with me, during my last week in the city, to visit a heralded NYC institution–the Olive Garden in Times Square.

While I lived in New York, I had my complaints too.  For me, the city was expensive, crowded, and dirty.  Rats were everywhere, as if the Pied Piper had settled in Manhattan.  Over the last four months, I lived on the Upper East Side, where Juicy-Couture-wearing poodles would be juxtaposed with the pigeon-poop-lined sidewalks.  I’d dodge feces of all kinds (dog, rodent, fowl) as I walked to work.

But as nostalgia goes, all my complaints about New York are now forgotten.  The good memories are the ones that remain: dancing with kilted Scotsmen at Gatsby’s, table-searching in the basement of 30 Rock, discussing pedophiles on Wednesday nights, finding the best fajitas in town (still Zarela’s), Zog Sports football, Central Park, 24-hour diners, even Joshua Tree.

I think that anytime something ends, there is an afterwards period of great reflection and self-doubt.  If I were in an early-90s TV show, I’d be sitting next to a bay window now, a single tear streaming down one cheek, watching the rain fall outside.  Am I doing the right thing?  Am I just being crazy?  Who chooses LA over New York??  Where did my stoic, hardened, East-Coast-is-the-Beast-Coast mentality go?

Well… I don’t know the answer to that right now.  But with regards to the city of New York, I’ll quote the modern-day, muscled bard of California: I’ll be back… perhaps.

2 Comments

Filed under Life

2 responses to “Goodbye, New York

  1. Hi, I can see I’m not the first person to come across your blog posts after searching for “how to move to l.a.” or something of the like. I’ve enjoyed reading a bunch of your stuff, and happy to see you up and went to LA. If I may ask you anything, though, can you offer any advice to others wanting to do it?

    I lost my job a couple of weeks ago but have a nice amount of money saved up. You’re ahead of me in that you already have a job out there, but did you also have an apartment lined up when you arrived? I’ve moved for internships before but everything was mostly set up for me, and the thought of just driving out there is yet another scary thing on top of every other uncertainty. But I want to write, take classes for that and acting and maybe more. I just figured out LA might be better for that than NYC.

    Anything you can have to say would be appreciated! Hope all’s still going well for you out there.

  2. Pingback: Los Angeles vs. New York… Working to Live, vs. Living to Work? « FRESH is BACK

Leave a Reply

